Being the Change

 Be the change that you wish to see in the world. – Mahatma Gandhi

4e185e47-d25d-405f-b750-132f341a5101Olive branch: Google image

Things are out of whack.  Our world is suffering.  What can we do? The problems are so immense…so, the best we can hope to do is find someone to blame?

Take your pick:

  • the politicians
  • the financial institutions, Big Banks
  • the NRA
  • the liberals
  • the conservatives
  • immigration, legal or otherwise
  • religion
  • secular humanism
  • the media, especially newish social media
  • etc.
  • etc.
  • etc.

My mind goes there sometimes.  There is so much reinforcement for the blame mentality and it brings some groups together.  Unfortunately is also splits the whole into factions.  It doesn’t make our world a better place.  It doesn’t solve anything.

Then I am left thinking, what can I do?  What can any one person do? That can lead to a feeling of helplessness, hopelessness.  It seems when that sets in, all one can do is watch in horror as things get worse.

Prayers?  Don’t say that is not enough.  Pray! Absolutely!  In whatever form that takes, pray for what is right and just.  Pray for the strength to love yourself enough to know respect for all beings and the earth we live on.  Then put those prayers into action.  We are, each of us, just a tiny part of the whole.  What happens to one, happens to us all at some very basic level.

“Never believe that a few caring people can’t change the world. For, indeed, that’s all who ever have.” – Margaret Mead

6 thoughts on “Being the Change

  1. Glad to find your new blog. I had wondered what was wrong with your blogspot blog that it never updated. I’ve deleted it and added this blog. I never found your email address so I’ll ask a nuts and bolts question here before moving on to my comment on your post today. I have a WordPress blog set up and ready to go but haven’t been brave enough to launch it. How are you liking WordPress? Be specific. I’d like to take the leap but always talk myself out of it.

    Today I watched the memorial service for the 5 Dallas police officers and listened to former President Bush and President Obama speak. Both speeches were very good. I’ve been so impressed with the Dallas Chief of Police.

    As always President Obama soared. I actually heard Don Lemon on CNN later say it is up to the media to stop some of this, to call people to do better when they come on TV with angry rhetoric.

    I’m about to decide leadership for the country in these troubling times is going to have to come from somewhere other than Washington. I just don’t see how it’s going to come from the White House or Congress. If not there, where can we look for leadership?

    One community at a time is a slow hard struggle but that may be what’s going to have to happen, one community at a time changing.

    Like

  2. Excellent post. Indeed it is easy to get overwhelmed with the situation of the world today. I could probably stand to pray a lot more than I do.

    Like

  3. This really made me sit and think. I don’t know how we make things better but I sure thought they would be my now. We were the generation of peace and sometimes it doesn’t seem like we have come very far.

    Like

Leave a Reply

