Eggplant Parm.

My grandmother used to slice eggplant, dip it in bread crumbs, and fry it.  In truth, I remember this happening maybe once or twice as a part of my childhood, but it was enough to make me swear off eggplant for the rest of my life.

My first mother-in-law used to insist that tastes changed every seven years.  If you didn’t like something, just wait.  It took me a lot longer than seven years, but perhaps five years ago I did try eggplant parmesan and — guess what — I loved it.

According to the World’s Healthiest Foods:

Eggplant is a very good source of dietary fiber, vitamin B1 and copper. It is a good source of manganese, vitamin B6, niacin, potassium, folate and vitamin K. Eggplant also contains phytonutrients such as nasunin and chlorogenic acid.

I don’t think I would bother with plain eggplant as my grandmother served it, but I do enjoy this recipe once in a while.

DSC001127×9″ pan

Ingredients~

  • 1 medium eggplant, peeled and sliced thin
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1 cup bread crumbs
  • fresh basil, thyme, and oregano to taste (I grow it, dried is fine)
  • 2 cups marinara (a jar speeds this up considerably)
  • mozzarella cheese, feta crumbles, and grated parmesan, enough to sprinkle on layer

Steps~

  1. Lightly spray the pan and a baking sheet and preheat oven to 375 degrees
  2. mix chopped herbs with bread crumbs in a shallow bowl
  3. dip eggplant in milk, then in the bread crumbs and arrange on baking sheet
  4. bake until tender, about 20-25 minutes, and remove from oven
  5. spread some tomato sauce on the bottom of the casserole pan
  6. layer eggplant, cheeses, tomato sauce until pan is filled
  7. sprinkle parmesan and extra bread crumbs on top
  8. bake (uncovered) at 375 for 40 minutes
  9. remove from oven when heated through and bubbly, let rest for 10 minutes
  10. serve and enjoy

 

This will easily serve four people.  It is not a last minute preparation meal, but I do freeze half for another time when I need a convenient grab at mealtime.

Baking the eggplant slices rather than frying them cuts down on the fat.  I am fairly stingy with the addition of the cheese, but of course more is an option.

Salad or a green vegetable completes the dinner for me.  Sometimes I am inclined to add chopped spinach to the layering and serve with a glass of red wine.

 

 

7 thoughts on “Eggplant Parm.

  1. Eggplant is very good and good for you. This recipe sounds delicious. The first time I ever tasted eggplant was in a dish at Iggy’s Cafe in Pryor, Oklahoma in 1965. The way they fixed it looked much like the picture you show here and I was hooked immediately.

    Like

  2. I’m with you — I am not crazy about eggplant but you cover it with enough pasta sauce it is pretty good! I will have to try your recipe. Thanks!

    Like

  3. It looks yummy. I was the same way with cooked green bell peppers. I thought it was poison as a kid. Sometime in my 40s, I tried it and though it was wonderful. Great looking recipe.

    Like

Leave a Reply

