Exercise in Mindfulness

 

free-vintage-images-dogwood-flowers-graphicsfairy-pnkthegraphicfairy

Practicing mindful meditation is said to reduce anxiety.  And, really, the only thing one needs to do it is the ability to breathe.  Just concentrate on some aspect of the breath — in/out, inhale/exhale, cool air/warm air.

I had two old, cracking fillings that needed to be replaced and an appointment to get them fixed by my dentist yesterday afternoon.  Classic anxiety producing situation.

Although I kept my eyes closed the whole time, I could sense the needles about to poke into my mouth, I knew I would certainly hear the whir of the drill.  I was suddenly aware that as soon as the dentist pressed my lip away from my teeth and gums I held my breath. What better time to be mindful about breathing?

Oh, the breathing was ragged at times but I kept at it, trying to even out the rise and fall of my belly.   Breathe in, breathe out. The old fillings were not deep.  My dentist is both gentle and quick.  Now I don’t have to worry about germs working their menacing way into cracks in my teeth.

A very practical application for mindful meditation.

9 thoughts on “Exercise in Mindfulness

  1. I agree 100%. As a matter of fact, when I’m in the dentist’s chair I think about a forest and imagine all the details in that forest from the wind to the temperature to the plants around me and slowly breathe. It does help.

    Like

  2. I practice deep breathing when at the dentist as well…trying to suck in every bit of that nitrous oxide I can before I leap out of the chair and run away. Glad your filling replacement went well.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I’m glad this worked for you. I try to do this type of breathing and meditation in the dentist chair also, or when I have an MRI. Olga, have you moved from your old blog to this site?

    Like

    1. I have not shut down my other blog entirely, but for some reason that seems unfixable it does not update to readers’ feeds. I am liking WordPress better.

      Like

Leave a Reply

