Rest in Peace

“Act the way you’d like to be and soon you’ll be the way you act.”—Leonard Cohen

cropped-vinyl-record

My grandson asked me, “What music did you listen to…back in the day?”  Ignoring his little devil dig at my age, this made me stop and realize that my world of music took a hit in 2016.

David Bowie

Glenn Frey

Steve Young

Even Bobby Bee from the way back day.

Most recently, Leonard Cohen.

Personally, I may have picked  Cohen over Dylan for the Nobel Prize in Literature.

Of course, Leonard Cohen’s “Hallelujah” has gotten a great deal of play lately.  It is a beautiful song.

My favorite though:

Like a bird on a wire,

Like a drunk in some midnight choir,

I have tried in my way to be free

I guess there really is a hell of a band in heaven.

3 thoughts on “Rest in Peace

  1. I agree with you about Leonard Cohen. He would be a perfect candidate for the Nobel Prize. I didn’t know he was a Zen Buddhist monk for 5 years searching for a path to spiritual enlightenment. I didn’t even know about him until maybe 8 years ago when we were in Canada and someone told us about Cohen doing a last public appearance in Canada. She’d come from Cuba to see him. We were so amazed that we looked it up and have admired him since.

    Like

Leave a Reply

