Magnesium

chocolate_png36free image from Chocolate PNG

 

Here is something new that I learned this past week — there is such a thing as the Nutritional Magnesium Association.

Among the indicators of a lack of magnesium in the body are: muscle spasms, anxiety, insomnia, constipation, high blood pressure, headaches, irregular heartbeat, acid reflux. I have a few of those complaints, which is how I happened upon the above site.

Magnesium is also important to bone strength.  With osteopenia on my health record, this is important to me. It works in concert with calcium.  Calcium assists in muscle contraction while magnesium assist with muscle relaxation (hence the cramps and muscle spasms?)

Craving chocolate might also indicate a need for magnesium in the diet.  Chocolate is a source of magnesium.  Trust your body, folks!

Other foods that are good sources of magnesium are brazil nuts, almonds, cashews, pumpkin seeds. quinoa, rice bran, cocoa, spinach, and halibut.

Having watched a Frontline report on the dietary supplement industry, I am betting it is much better to get the nutritional benefits of magnesium from real foods just as the nutrition experts have always warned. On the other hand,  I know there is also concern about practices of big-business agriculture depleting the soil of its once abundant minerals resulting in our food being quite less nutrition packed than it once was.

Ah, humans…what imperfect creatures we are!  It’s not that I don’t use much stronger language in the privacy of my own home — just not ready to blow my little old lady, retired teacher image just yet.

There is a magnesium benefit from soaking in an Epsom salt bath.  I have used magnesium oil spray to good effect.  I do keep a supply of almonds, cashews and/or pumpkins seeds around — and of course a medicinal supply of good quality chocolate.

 

10 thoughts on “Magnesium

  1. Thank you for this info Olga. I was recently diagnosed with osteopenia, too. I already took a number of supplements but the doctor did tell me to be sure and take 1200mg calcium/D3 daily and to be sure and split the dosage. According to him the body can only consume 600mg of calcium at once. He never mentioned magnesium but I read the article and I really think I should be taking it. Thanks for the help. and I sure do wish there was a way to know the quality of the supplements I buy. Frustrating.

    Like

  2. I do love chocolate, but I don’t think lack of magnesium is the culprit. Still, it’s good to know. I do eat a lot of almonds, etc. so I should be good. I have osteoporosis, so I do have to be careful.

    Like

  3. I’m glad there are people like you around. This is so over my head. Drives me crazy trying to figure out minerals, supplements and food. I find it all very complicated.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. With Osteopenia lurking in my 81-year-old body, as well as a few of the other symptoms of magnesium deficiency, I’m going to add a trip to our Clark’s Nutritional Center in Riverside today. Thanks for such a helpful post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. My husband had equilibrium issues and headaches which were linked to vitamin B and magnesium deficiencies. Within a short time of taking supplements, he was back to normal and his sense was the magnesium was the bigger contributor. If your symptoms are severe, you might consider supplementation to boost your levels back quickly and then revert to getting your intake from food. By the way, the organization consumerlab.com tests supplements to see if they accurately reflect their claimed contents. I believe you can join for free initially and then it’s by subscription. I hope you feel better soon!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks, Christy. I am glad to know about consumer lab.com. I figured there must be some way of knowing the quality of supplements. I will check it out.

        Like

Leave a Reply

