Winter Solstice

The Winter Solstice took place yesterday for those of us living in the Northern Hemisphere.  Winter has arrived.

As it happened I was traveling from my daughter’s house to my own, my grandson in tow.  I started out at 4 p.m. when dark was gathering and arrived home at 6 when it was truly the black of night.

Ancient celebrants of the Yule, made bonfires to symbolize the clearing out of the old year and making preparations for the new.  We saw no bonfires, but white candles in some windows, many houses decorated with brightly colored lights, even a couple of laser light showers.  On such a dark night, it was easy to appreciate the need to add light to the season.  I felt a connection to ancient progeny and an appreciation for all the journeys of my life — the trip with my grandson in the moment all the way to ride on this earth as it has circled the sun for all my years so far.

 

img_20161216_205355200

4 thoughts on “Winter Solstice

  1. It’s funny how I never noticed the shorter days when I was a kid in Hawaii. I was always aware of it when living in Illinois. And now that I’m back in Hawaii, I can really see it because the Farmer’s Market opens at 6:30 and it’s now too dark to see the vegetables. Have a very Merry Christmas, Olga. Sending you lots of aloha from Hawaii.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. For some reason this year, the degree of dark at 6 PM has been notable. Perhaps a psychological reaction to recent events.

    The holiday lights do much to cheer up the winter gloom. I really miss them in January.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

