A Letter to my Senators

I sent this to Senator Patrick Leahy and Senator Bernie Sanders:

Recently, I received an e-mail requesting urgently needed action, writing my Senators in support of ACA. i will have to confess my reaction was threefold in a very short period of time. I felt complacency, followed a mean spirited crassness, and finally my own personal epiphany for change.

Complacency…I am so fortunate to live and vote in Vermont. I don’t have to contact my Senators urging them to do the right thing. I know that you will (and thank-you, by the way).

Grateful as I am to be a Vermonter, I am also fortunate enough to be able to slip away when the days start to shorten and the air starts to chill. I come to my Florida home and politicians here can irritate that mean spirited seed. Oh, Florida has the highest rate of people signed up for ACA. We can’t pull the rug out from under our constituents! What to do? Frankly, I thought about writing just to urge you to give them what they wanted so badly. Let the people who voted against their own interests understand the consequences. Crassness…I know that is not right and I know you would not take that low road.

My personal epiphany for change…This is not the time for complacency. My vote did not count just as the votes of the majority of those who voted in the presidential election did not count. Our voices need to be heard. This is not the time for mean spirited retribution. The underbelly of racism, inequality, hatred, and willful ignorance has been exposed. If nothing else is good about that, at least it is in the open. We cannot address what we cannot see. And address it we must, as individuals, as families, as communities, and as a nation.

The moral high ground has not been seized. At their most elemental, most if not all the world’s religions teach some basic principle very similar to “do unto others as you would have done unto you.” When that is the belief that leads our country, then it is that we will be great.

If you missed Meryl Streep’s emotional speech from the Golden Globes last night, it is well worth checking out here.

Resistance must not be futile.  The good fight must move forward in dignity and grace.

 

images

9 thoughts on “A Letter to my Senators

  1. I am still behind on my reading but glad I read this. Well said my friend! Jenna, Amara and I will all march this Saturday and I just ordered a t-shirt that says “I Stand with John Lewis”. We must make our voices heard. Scary times. I am so fortunate to have good insurance but I fear for the 18 million or so they say will have no coverage if ACA is over turned and nothing left to replace it.

    Like

  2. You smartly used the only power we have left as citizens —-letting our representatives know what needs done and that our vote is determined by their actions. Well done. And yes, Meryl is my new hero.

    Like

  3. Excellent letter Olga. I especially like your observation that we cannot address what we cannot see. I suffered from that crassness myself. Give ’em what they want. But we have to remember, the majority did not vote for that, and they deserve a fair government as well.

    Like

  4. These are indeed troubling days. I’m anxious for the inauguration to be over to see if anybody is going to hold the new president accountable. In my disgust I often forget he isn’t actually president at this point so he’s not yet done anything that will get him in trouble. Five minutes after he takes the oath of office he’ll be in violation of all sorts of things. Jeff Sessions is a real boot licker that I fear will go to any length to protect him if he becomes AG. I’m trying to remain calm but it’s getting harder by the day.

    Like

    1. ADA is a typo, which I corrected. ACA is the Affordable Care Act, which so many people say they support, also known as Obamacare, which so many of the same people say needs to be repealed. I don’t make up examples of willful ignorance because I don’t need to.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

