Loving the Enemy

“Do not return evil to your adversary; Requite with kindness the one who does evil to you, Maintain justice for your enemy, Be friendly to your enemy.”

– Akkadian Councils of Wisdom (from the ancient Babylonian civilization that existed two millennia before Jesus was born)

“Shame on him who strikes, greater shame on him who strikes back. Let us live happily, not hating those who hate us. Let us therefore overcome anger by kindness, evil by good, falsehood by truth. Do not hurt others in ways that would be hurtful to yourself.”

– Buddhist wisdom (written centuries before Jesus was born)

In this world

Hate never yet dispelled hate.
Only love dispels hate.
This is the law,
Ancient and inexhaustible.

– The Dhammapada    (source here)

 

So very, very hard to love those who arouse hatred in my own heart.  So very hard to  wish love, compassion, happiness, and ease for those I perceive as spreading  hatred, harm, anger, and pain.

loveyourenemies1

 

839aaac9715182f38ebe82912bcc13ed

But I do know in my heart and through all my experiences, hate only attracts more hate.

I do not have to accept hatred.  I do not have to accept wrongs.

But I do have to take action from a place of peace.  Give me strength. As I work on my anger, I am overwhelmed by a feeling of great sadness and tears.

Sometimes the only way to show love to enemies is to hold them accountable for their actions. I can only do what I can do to let light shine.

9 thoughts on “Loving the Enemy

  1. Great post, Olga, and I agree we can not let hatred rule us for then we become that which we hate. But on the other hand, sometimes you just have to admit that hate is a hell of lot more fun. But its sort of like getting drunk, real fun in the doing but aftermath is terrible.

    Like

  2. I always have great difficulty with passages like this. I don’t believe love is always best expressed in passivity, taking it on the other cheek etc. I believe out of the great love we have for our country we must do more than express loving kindness to the enemy. Love can be expressed by filing lawsuits through the court system of our country. Love can be expressed through peaceful marches when people of like mind gather to draw strength from each other. Love is calling and writing elected officials. Love is speaking out when we see wrong.

    What’s not love is expressing anger, looking for a fight, arguing, etc. We need to give thought to where expressing our opinions makes a difference. Anger expressed on social media does no good. We need to think about how we comment on social media. Does anger show through?

    I try to remember the saying “If in fighting the beast you become like the beast, you are no better than the beast,” and I don’t know who said that.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I agree with you and perhaps I did not express myself fully. What I am trying for is active responses that do not cause me to feel combative and hate filled. I will march and contact my congress people and I will speak out against the administration while trying not to tell others how wrong headed they happen to be.
      I cannot keep up the anger because the reflux is killing me.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

