Brain Food

When I was growing up, Fridays were meatless.  That often meant fish for dinner. I wasn’t crazy about it although I do really love fish now and have it way more than on just the occasional Friday.

My parents always insisted we should eat the fish because it was “brain food.” I don’t know why they said that, but as is so often the case, moms and dads know best.

A couple of years ago the MIND diet was developed at Rush University Medical Center in Chicago when researchers identified certain foods that appear to reduce cognitive decline such as Alzheimer’s disease or senile dementia.

Good foods are:  leafy salad greens, other colorful vegetables, nuts, berries, beans, whole grains, fish, poultry, olive oil, and a daily glass of wine.

displaying-19-images-for-clipart-cooked-fish-8kmqoy-clipart

Unfortunately, researchers also identified foods that had a deleterious effect of brain health.  See if you can guess…red meat, butter/margarine, cheese, pastries and sweets, fried foods.

I don’t think this is particularly surprising or brand new information.  The plan does allow for some red meat and sweets — no more than five servings (small servings) per week. If you want cheese, a one ounce serving per week is allowed.

I try to eat healthy most of the time.  Since there has been quite a bit of dementia in my family I think I will be more aware of using olive oil instead of butter.  And nuts with a glass of red wine makes a nice dessert as far as I am concerned.

7 thoughts on “Brain Food

  1. Ahhhhhhhhhhhh! Not cheese. The staff of life. I am pretty good for the list except cheese which I love. Fish and poultry I despise. Yes I like red meat, but my wife is a vegetarian and I seldom eat it. Now the wine! Hmmmm! I would love to have a glass a day. Alas it give me a headache and I am too much of a borderline alcoholic to chance it. Perhaps thank God for the headaches.

    Where does commercial salad dressing fall on that list?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I try to listen to my body. It does not like dairy or red meat. Although fish may be good for you, I see the dirty waters from which it comes so I no longer eat any fish at all. I can only eat organic produce as the conventional stuff is grown with so many chemicals that my body rebels.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

