Rice Pudding

Healthy eating is always a good thing, but once in a while it is healthy (at least in my opinion) to go full on with comfort food.  Usually that is something that takes one right back to childhood.

My mother made a custardy rice pudding that was okay but certainly never my favorite.  However, this recipe, based on one for Kheer, an Indian rice pudding, is something I always find comforting and sweet.

Also, it is easy to eat when I am otherwise not feeling like my usual perky self. (As I have been recovering from bronchitis.)

Ingredients:

  • 1 quart half and half
  • 1 cup milk*
  • 1/2 cup basmati rice
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1 teaspoon ground cardamom

I put the half and half and milk in a slow cooker, rinse the rice, and add it to the slow cooker.

I set the slow cooker to high and let the rice cook in the milk for two to three hours. (it looks like just liquid for a long time, but eventually the rice plumps up.)

Add the sugar and cardamom and cook for another hour or so.

*I have used whole milk, low-fat, and almond milk and all have worked fine.

Raisins are traditional in this pudding, but I like it better without them.  A such of cinnamon is nice though it will make the pudding look like oatmeal.  Toasted almond slices or chopped pistachios (most yummy) can be used as garnish.

images

3 thoughts on “Rice Pudding

Leave a Reply

