Life Tips

I went out with friends on Saturday night to hear a band play at a bar in Sarasota. It has been a long long time since I did something like that. The band was great.

What I noticed that made me realize time has marched on was the number of cell phones in evidence.  I told you it had been a long time since I have been to a bar to see a band. People were snapping pictures of the band with their phones and that was kind of cool.

The woman sitting at the table next to me was snapping selfies, lots of them. I could see her posing this way and that and snapping away.  I might pose like that in the privacy of my bathroom mirror while putting on make-up, but I would be far to embarrassed to do that in public.

I looked around to find that there were plenty of people swiping and texting away on there phone, eyes on the screens — not the band, not the people they were with. It took a lot of the fun out of people watching.

This morning I read a piece from the Washington Post about the recent international TED talks that included the following: Face-to-face social interaction leads to a longer life. Apparently, actually looking someone in the eyes release neurochemicals that act as a protective vaccine, leaving one physically and emotionally healthier, contributing to longevity.

I am not advocating giving up our smart phones, by any means, but I was glad to be out with my friends and just be with them having a good time.  Let’s face it, the rest of the world is not all that interested in a minute by minute update on my life’s activities. And now I have feel good hormones still coursing through my bloodstream.

42a9b7d92b940a8754b04f9faaf64865

3 thoughts on “Life Tips

  1. I use my cell phone only for emergencies in the car or for long distance. I am so glad you had a good time with friends. There is nothing better than face to face interaction.

    Like

  2. I agree! Among other people my age, I feel like I have the cheapest and lamest phone that I only use to call and text. But in the end, I don’t mind, because I don’t have that temptation in my pocket to constantly play games, snap pictures or browse the internet.
    And your story reminded me of three young women snapping selfies as they hid in the branches of one lonely tree next to a busy sidewalk. I guess they wanted to get that mysterious, natural looking going in their selfies, as if they were in full nature rather than in a city.. But in real life they looked kind of funny. My toddler, not so discretly stopped to stare at them and asked: “Why are these girls hiding in that tree?”

    Like

Leave a Reply

