Lessons of Being Unwell

I have not been feeling well.

Lesson 1: Listen to your body.  

I am notoriously bad at this.  I may not be able to control much in life, but by gosh, I control my body and tell it what to do, not the other way round.  And I am stubborn about not running to doctors “for every little thing.”

So I go along in my pious self-righteous mode until my body has no option but to start clanging warning bells and sending out flashing red warning lights and imposing an audio “Danger! Danger! Crash ahead!” That gets my attention, but too late to avoid the crash.

I have probably mentioned that I have been suffering from GERD, reflux. I had it when I was working in a stressful job, but retirement had been a good cure until last November when it started up again.  The last election was a very bitter pill for me to swallow.  Well, stubbornness made me determined not to let someone else affect my well-being!  Are you kidding me? No, I reject that.  I will push it away!  (Yes, the wisdom of meditation comes slowly to some of us.)

The message my body was sending me was not about control.  (That’s my head dictating to the body.)  It was more along the lines of “Your solar plexus chakra!  Completely shut down! All protective barriers breached!  Taking on waves of negativity! Are you listening yet? Because we can bring out the bells and lights and audio.” The body is so metaphorical, the mind can’t help but roll its eyes.

Pushing against the undesirable or clinging to the desired — the two paths to suffering.

to be continued…

 

3 thoughts on “Lessons of Being Unwell

  1. We think of ourselves as something like the master of our ship, standing as we do, high up on the bridge in our skulls, shouting out orders, planning strategy, and navigating our ship of self through the shoals and narrows of life. Yet our bodies often show us that to be less than true. David Eagleman, in his book Incognito, The Secret Lives of Brains, tell us that the person in charge in our heads, is generally the last part of the brain to know anything. Why, because it really does nothing other than to convince us that we are in charge. He uses the analogy of a person reading USA Today, and considering themselves an expert in running the entire United States. That actually works quite well most of the time. But when the crap hits the fan, sometimes its best to listen to the news from the body and take action. Hope you are feeling better soon.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I was diagnosed with GERD in 2000 and had been taking omeprazole. Recently, I read a newspaper article warning us that omeprazole could lead to heart disease. Zantac is better, the article said. So, I am now on Zantac. Let’s see if I live any longer…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

